Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Department of the Air Member for Supply and Organisation - Personnel April 1949

From this year it is currently only possible to show the those personnel fulfilling posts at Director of higher level.

ACM Sir George C Pirie Air Member for Supply and Organisation, KBE, CB, MC, DFC, LLD  1 Sep 1948
Mr R J Penney Private Secretary, DFC  

Directorate-General of Organisation


Alexander P Davidson

Director-General, CB, CBE 10 Jun 1947
Directorate of Organisation

Gilbert E Nicholetts

Director, CB, AFC; later AM 10 Jun 1947
Directorate of Organisation (Establishments)
A/Cdre John R Whitley Director, CB, CBE, DSO, AFC; later AM 18 Dec 1947
Directorate of Movements

Leonard Taylor

Director  5 Jan 1948
Directorate of Organisation (Forecasting and Planning)

Harold D Jackman

Director, CB, CBE; later AM 10 Jan 1949
Directorate of War Organisation
A/Cdre Gareth G Barrett Director, CBE 18 Oct 1948

Directorate of Administrative Plans (Joint Administrative Planning Staff)

Gp Capt

Ronald C Storrar

Director, OBE; later AVM 7 Mar 1949

Directorate-General of Equipment


Thomas E Drowley

Director-General, CB, CBE 15 Dec 1946

Directorate of Equipment (A)


Bertram E Essex

Director, CBE; later AVM 31 Mar 1949

Directorate of Equipment (B)


Geoffrey L Worthington

Director, CBE; later AVM 15 Apr 1948

Directorate of Equipment (D)


Edward C Farman

Director, CBE; later AVM  4 Apr 1949

Directorate-General of Works

Mr G H Fretwell Director-General, MICE  

Directorate of Works - 1

Mr G S Hallas Director, OBE, MC, BEng, MICE  

Directorate of Works - 2

Mr F L Fay Director, MC, AMICE  
Directorate of Works - 3
Mr C E Foster Director, CBE, BSc (Eng), AMICE  
Chief Electrical and Mechanical Engineer
Mr A Watson Chief Electrical and Mechanical Engineer, BSc, MIME, AMIEE  
Chief Lands Officer
Mr C E R Hayward Chief Lands Officer, PASI  
Chief Surveyor
Mr E P Stewart Chief Surveyor, FSI  
Chief Superintendent (Drawing Office)
Mr J B F Hawkins Chief Superintendent (Designs), CBE, MICE  
Directorate of Work (Civil Aviation)
Mr A E G Collins Director of Works (Civil Aviation), CBE, MC, BSc, AMIMM

Source - April 1949 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

         [Top of Page]