Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Other Home Commands/Units - July 1941

[RAF in Northern Ireland | Embarkation Offices]

RAF in Northern Ireland

Command HQ - Dunlambert, Fort William Park, Belfast


Unit Location/Address Notes
RAF Station Aldergrove    
No 1402 (Meteorological) Flt RAF Aldergrove Gladiator
No 1405 (Meteorological) Flt RAF Aldergrove Blenheim
No 8 Mobile Oxygen Plant RAF Aldergrove  
No 2 Heavy Mobile W/T Section (Detachment) RAF Aldergrove  
RAF Station Ballyhalbert    
No 23 Wireless Servicing Unit RAF Ballyhalbert  
RAF Station Belfast    
No 2 Heavy Mobile W/T Section RAF Belfast  
No 18 E W/T Fitting Party RAF Belfast  
No 968 (Balloon) Sqn RAF Belfast  
RAF Station Dromore    
No 22 Wireless Servicing Unit RAF Dromore  
RAF Station Eglington   see Coastal Command
RAF Station Holywood    
No 74 ASE RAF Holywood  
No 75 ASE RAF Holywood  
Bomb Disposal Unit RAF Holywood  
RAF Station Limavady   see Coastal Command
RAF Station Londonderry    
No 920 (Balloon) Sqn RAF Londonderry  
RAF Station Mallusk    
No 11 Repair and Salvage Centre RAF Mallusk  
No 12 Wireless Intelligence Screen RAF Mallusk  
RAF Station Newtonards    
No 231 Sqn RAF Newtonards Lysander
RAF Station Nutt's Corner    
RAF Station Sydenham   HQ No 31 Wing
No 88 Sqn RAF Sydenham Battle (in the process of converting to Blenheims)
No 7 Mobile Oxygen Plant RAF Sydenham  

Embarkation Offices

Embarkation Office Parent Unit Notes
Aberdeen RAF Dyce  
Avonmouth RAF Filton  
Ayr RAF Prestwick  
Barrow-in-Furness RAF Morecombe  
Barry RAF St Athan
Belfast RAF Sydenham
Benbecula RAF Islay  
Douglas RAF Ronaldsway  
Glasgow RAF Abbotsinch  
Hull RAF Leconfield  
Leith RAF Turnhouse  
Lerwick RAF Sullom Voe
Liverpool RAF Sealand
London RAF Kidbrooke  
Newport RAF Cardiff  
Oban RAF Oban  
Port Ellen RAF Islay  
Preston RAF Squires Gate  
Southampton RAF Calshot  
Stromness RAF Skeabrae  
Stornoway RAF Islay  
Stranraer RAF Stranraer  
Swansea No 958 (Balloon) Sqn, Swansea  
Thurso RAF Castletown  
Tiree RAF Oban  
Workington RAF Siloth

Operational control of EOs and questions affecting officers was the responsibility of the Air Ministry (Deputy Director of Equipment (9)) whilst the Parent Unit was responsible for pay, accounting and administration involving airmen

Source - July 1941 SD161

[RAF in Northern Ireland | Embarkation Offices]

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]