Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Air Forces in India - November 1939

AHQ - New Delhi

Unit Location
Aircraft Depot RAF Karachi
Air Force Station Risalpur Risalpur, India
No 27 (Bomber) Sqn (less 4 aircraft at Bombay) RAF Risalpur
Air Force Station Ambala Ambala, India
No 60 (Bomber) Sqn (less 2 aircraft at Calcutta and 2 aircraft at Madras) AFS Ambala
No 5 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (1 Flight) Fort Sandeman
HQ No 1 (Indian ) Group RAF Peshawar
No 20 (Army Co-operation) Sqn (less 1 Flight at Miranshah) RAF Peshawar
RAF Station Kohat RAF Kohat
No 28 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Kohat
RAF Station Lahore RAF Lahore
No 31 (Army Co-operation) Sqn RAF Lahore
Central Wireless Station RAF Lahore

*To be known as RAF Detachment and established as such

In addition the following are included in the Command's establishment:

Unit Note
HQ Air Forces in India renamed 'AHQ India' Establishment India No 1
RAF Hill Depot Establishment India No 11
Chowkidars, Khassadars and Levy Sowars for the Air Firing and Bombing ranges in India Establishment India No 12
No 1 Sqn, Indian Air Force Establishment India No 13
Indian Air Force Reserve Pool Establishment India No 14
British Instructional Staff for the IAF Apprentices Establishment India No 15

Source - SD161 (1st Issue), November 1939

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]