Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Command - July 1937

No 16 (Reconnaissance) Group

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Abbotsinch Abbotsinch, Renfrewshire
No 269 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Abbotsinch
RAF Station Bircham Newton Bircham Newton, Norfolk
No 206 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 220 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Bircham Newton
No 201 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Calshot
Bombing Range Dalgety Bay
RAF Station Donibristle Donibristle,
No 22 (Torpedo Bomber) Sqn RAF Donibristle
No 42 (Torpedo Bomber) Sqn RAF Donibristle
RAF Camp Evanton
RAF Station, Felixstowe (Administration of Personnel only) RAF Felixstowe, Norfolk
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment RAF Felixstowe, Norfolk
No 209 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Felixstowe
Landguard Bombing Range RAF Felixstowe
RAF Station Mount Batten Plymouth, Devon
No 204 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Mount Batten
RAF Station Pembroke Dock Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire
No 210 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Pembroke Dock
No 228 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Pembroke Dock
Floating Dock RAF Pembroke Dock
No 217 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Tangmere
RAF Station Thornaby Thornaby, North Riding of Yorkshire
No 224 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Thornaby
No 233 (General Reconnaissance) Sqn RAF Thornaby

(a) Directly under Director of Training for training.

No 17 (Training) Group

Unit Location/Administered by
RAF Station Calshot Calshot Spit, Hampshire
HQ and Training Sqn RAF Calshot
No 240 (Flying Boat) Sqn RAF Calshot
RAF Station Gosport Gosport, Hampshire
  1. Training Sqn
  2. Torpedo Section
  3. Storage Unit
No 1 Coast Artillery Co-operation Unit RAF Gosport
RAF Station Lee-on-Solent Lee-on-Solent, Hampshire
School of Naval Co-operation RAF Lee-on-Solent
No 2 Anti-Aircraft Co-operation Unit RAF Lee-on-Solent
RAF Station Southampton Southampton, Hampshire

Fleet Air Arm of the Royal Air Force units administered by Coastal Command HQ

Unit Allocated to/Shore Station
RAF Units for HMS Courageous  
No 800 (Fleet Fighter) Sqn Southampton
No 810 (Fleet Torpedo Bomber) Sqn Gosport
No 820 (Fleet Spotter Reconnaissance) Sqn Southampton
No 821 (Fleet Spotter Reconnaissance) Sqn Southampton
RAF Units for HMS Hermes (re-fitting)  
RAF Units for HMS Furious  
No 801 (Fleet Fighter) Sqn Southampton
No 811 (Fleet Torpedo Bomber) Sqn Gosport
No 822 (Fleet Spotter Reconnaissance) Sqn Manston
No 702 (Catapult) Flt 2nd Battle Sqn (Home Fleet)
No 712 (Catapult) Sqn 2nd Cruiser Sqn (Home Fleet)
No 716 (Catapult) Flt 6th Cruiser Sqn (South Africa)
No 718 (Catapult) Sqn 8th Cruiser Sqn (America and West Indies)

Source - July 1937 Air Force List

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                       [Top of Page]