Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Area - January 1934

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
RAF Base Calshot
  1. HQ
  2. No 201 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  3. Training Sqn
  4. Navigation School
  5. Marine Instructional Section
  6. Marine Craft Section
  7. RAF Refuelling Base, Portrland
  8. RAF Embarkation Office, Southampton (a)
Station HQ RAF Donibristle
  1. Accommodation for FAA Units
  2. RAF Auxiliary 'Commander Cawley'
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment (b) RAF Felixstowe
RAF Base Gosport
  1. HQ
  2. Base Training Squadron (4 Flights)
  3. Base Torpedo Section
  4. Workshops and Storage Section
  5. RAF Auxiliary 'Adastral'
  6. Accommodation for FAA Units
  7. No 1 Coast Defence Training Flt
  8. No 2 Coast Defence Training Flt
  9. No 3 Coast Defence Training Flt
School of Naval Co-operation RAF Lee-on-Solent
  1. HQ
  2. Training Flight
  3. Co-operation  Flight
  4. Accommodation for FAA Catapult Flight
RAF Training Base RAF Leuchars
  1. HQ
  2. Training Squadron (3 Flights)
  3. Accommodation for FAA Catapult Flight
  4. Novar Camp (Annually)
Station HQ Mount Batten
  1. No 204 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  2. No 209 (Flying Boat) Sqn
No 210 (Flying Boat) Sqn Pembroke Dock
RAF Floating Dock Pembroke Dock
RAF Units in the Fleet Air Arm administered by the Coastal Area
RAF Units for HMS Courageous
RAF Units for HMS Furious

(a) Controlled directly by the Director of Equipment, Air Ministry

(b) Administered as laid down in AMWO A84/32.

Source - January 1934 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                       [Top of Page]