Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Area - July 1932

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
RAF Base Calshot
  1. HQ
  2. No 201 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  3. HQ Training Sqn
  4. Navigation School
  5. Marine Instructional Section
  6. Marine Craft Section
  7. RAF Refuelling Base, Portland
  8. RAF Embarkation Office, Southampton (a)
Station HQ RAF Donibristle
  1. No 100 (Bomber) Sqn
  2. Accommodation for 3 FAA Flights
  3. RAF Auxiliary 'Commander Cawley'
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment (b) RAF Felixstowe
  1. Flying Boat Development Flt
RAF Base Gosport
  1. Base HQ
  2. Base Training Sqn (4 Flts)
  3. Base Torpedo Section
  4. Workshops and Storage Section
  5. RAF Auxiliary 'Adastral'
  6. Accommodation for a total of 6 FAA Flights
School of Naval Co-operation RAF Lee-on-Solent
  1. HQ
  2. Training Flt
  3. Co-operation Flt
  4. FAA Flt - Catapult (SR)
  5. FAA Flt - Catapult (SR)
RAF Training Base RAF Leuchars
  1. HQ
  2. Training Sqn (3 Flts)
  3. Accommodation for a total of 2 FAA Flights
  4. Novar Camp (Annually)
Station HQ Mount Batten
  1. No 204 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  2. No 209 (Flying Boat) Sqn
No 210 (Flying Boat) Sqn Pembroke Dock
  1. RAF Floating Dock
RAF Units for  
  1. HMS Courageous
  2. HMS Furious

(a) Controlled directly by the Director of Equipment, Air Ministry

(b) Controlled directly by the Air Ministry, as laid down in AMWO 822/21.

Source - July 1932 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                       [Top of Page]