Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Area - July 1931

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location
Inspector of Recruiting (a) Gwydyr House, London SW1
RAF Recruiting Depot Gwydyr House, London SW1
Central Medical Establishment (b) 3-4 Clement's Inn, WC2
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment (c) RAF Felixstowe
  1. Flying Boat Development Flt
  2. No 210 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  1. RAF Felixstowe
  2. RAF Felixstowe (temporarily at Pembroke Dock)
RAF Training Base RAF Leuchars
Accommodation for a total of 3 FAA Flights
Station HQ RAF Donibristle
  1. No 100 (Bomber) Sqn
RAF Unit for  
  1. HMS Courageous
Station HQ Mount Batten
  1. No 204 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  2. No 209 (Flying Boat) Sqn
RAF Unit Pembroke Dock
High Speed Flt RAF Base Calshot

No 10 Group

Unit Location
RAF Base Calshot
  1. HQ
  2. No 201 (Flying Boat) Sqn
  3. HQ Training Sqn
  4. Navigation School
  5. Seaplane Training Flt
  6. Marine Training Section
  7. RAF Embarkation Office, Southampton
School of Naval Co-operation RAF Lee-on-Solent
No 444 (Fleet Spotter Reconnaissance) Flt RAF Lee-on-Solent
RAF Base Gosport
  1. Base HQ
  2. Flying Section
  3. Torpedo Development Section
  4. Marine Craft Section
  5. RAF Auxiliary 'Adastral'
  6. Storage Unit
  7. Accommodation for a total of 6 FAA Flights
RAF Floating Dock RAF Portland

(a) Controlled directly by the Air Ministry

(c) Directly under Air Ministry for technical administration

Source - July 1931 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                       [Top of Page]