Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Area - July 1928

Directly Administered by Area HQ

33-34 Tavistock Place, London WC1

Unit Location
Inspector of Recruiting RAF (b):- Gwydr House, Whitehall, London SW1
  1. RAF Recruiting Depot
  1. Gwydr House, Whitehall, London SW1
Central Medical Establishment (d) 3-4 Clement's Inn, London WC2
Marine Aircraft Experimental Establishment (a) Felixstowe
  1. Flying Boat Development Flight
  1. Felixstowe
RAF Training Base Leuchars
  1. HQ
  2. Accommodation for 5 FAA Flights
RAF Station Donibristle
  1. No 401 (Fleet Fighter) Flt
  2. No 405 (Fleet Fighter) Flt
  3. No 406 (Fleet Fighter) Flt
RAF Units for: -
  • HMS Furious

(a) Controlled directly by the Air Ministry as laid down in AMWO 822/1921.

(b) Under the Air Ministry for technical administration.

(d) Under Director of Medical Services for technical administration (Medical).

No 10 Group (HQ - Lee-on-Solent)

Unit Location
RAF Base Calshot
  1. HQ
  2. No 480 (Coastal Reconnaissance) Flt
  3. HQ Training Sqn
  4. Navigation School
  5. Seaplane Training Flt
  6. Marine Training Section
RAF Base Gosport
  1. HQ
  2. Flying Section
  3. Torpedo Development Section
  4. Marine Craft Section
  5. RAF Auxiliary 'Adastral'
  6. Fleet Storage Unit
  7. Accommodation for 6 FAA Flights
School of Naval Co-operation Lee-on-Solent
Storage Unit Tangmere
RAF Floating Dock Portland
Care and Maintenance Party Cattewater

Source - July 1928 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                       [Top of Page]