Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

RAF Middle East - May 1923

Units administered directly by HQ RAF Middle East

Unit Location
Aircraft Depot Aboukir
Stores Depot Aboukir
  1. Port Depot Detachment
  1. Alexandria
Engine Repair Depot Abbassia (Cairo)
Aden Flight (a) Aden
  1. Meteorological Station
  2. Detachment
  1. Aden
  2. Somaliland

(a) Under control of GOC, Aden for operations

Egyptian Group (HQ - Heliopolis)

Unit Location
No 216 Sqn Heliopolis
No 4 Flying Training School Abu Sueir
  1. Meteorological Station
  1. Abu Sueir
Care and Maintenance Party Moascar, Ismailia
No 47 Sqn Helwan
  1. Meteorological Station
  1. Helwan


Constantinople Wing (HQ - British Forces in Turkey)

Unit Location
No 4 Sqn  
No 25 Sqn  
No 56 Sqn (Detached Flight)  
No 207 Sqn  
No 208 Sqn  
Aircraft Park  
No 1 Aerodrome Party  

Source - May 1923 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19

                                                                        [Top of Page]