Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Inland Area - April 1921

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Hillingdon House, Uxbridge, Middlesex

Unit Location
RAF Depot
  1. Record Office Detachment
  2. RAF Central Band (a)
  3. School of Physical Training and Drill
  4. Air Ministry MT Section
  1. Uxbridge
  2. Uxbridge
  3. Uxbridge
  4. War Office Garage,
Inland Area Medical HQ Uxbridge
Inland Area Invaliding Board Uxbridge
RAF Central Hospital Finchley
Research Laboratory and Medical Officers School of Instruction Holly Hill, Hampstead, NW3
Aviation Candidates and Central Medical Board Holly Hill, Hampstead, NW3
Inland Area Aircraft Depot (b) RAF Henlow
MT Repair Depot Shrewsbury

(a) Directly under Director of Personnel for technical administration.

(b) Under Director of Equipment for technical administration.

No 1 Group (HQ - Kenley)

Unit Location
No 24 Sqn (a) Kenley
Armament and Gunnery School (Cadre) Eastchurch
Instrument Design Establishment (c) Biggin Hill
Signal Co-operation Flight Biggin Hill
School of Technical Training (Men) Manston
No 25 Sqn (Cadre) Hawkinge
No 1 Stores Depot (b) including: -
  1. Armament Repair and Gun-testing Section
  2. Wireless Repair Section
  3. Photographic Repair Section
  4. Tool Repair Section
  5. MT Spares Repair Section
  6. Port Detachment, No 1 Stores Deport
Kidbrooke SE3
  1. Kidbrooke SE3
  2. Kidbrooke SE3
  3. Kidbrooke SE3
  4. Kidbrooke SE3
  5. Kidbrooke SE3
  6. South Dock, West India Dock, E14
Medical Stores Depot (c) Shed M, Kidbrooke SE3
No 3 Stores Depot (b) Milton, Steventon, Berks
No 4 Stores Depot (b) Ruislip
Balloon Stores Depot (b) Kingsnorth
The Packing Depot West Ascot
Imperial War Museum (RAF Section) Crystal Palace, Sydenham, SE
Central Pay Office (to be disbanded) (c)
  1. Base Pay Office (France)
  1. Woking
General Services Pay Office Trafalgar House, Great Newport Street, WC2
Record Office Ruislip

(a) Directly under the Air Ministry for operations.

(b) Controlled directly by the Air Ministry for all matters except for discipline and medical and sanitary services.

(c) Directly under the Air Ministry for technical administration.

No 3 Group (HQ - Spittlegate, Grantham)

Unit Location
No 3 Flying Training School (Cadre) Digby
No 207 Squadron (Cadre) Bircham Newton
Aeroplane Experimental Establishment
  1. Detachment
Martlesham Heath
  1. Orfordness
No 2 Flying Training School Duxford
No 6 Flying Training School (Cadre) Spittlegate
No 39 Squadron (Cadre) Spittlegate
Care & Maintenance Party Coal Aston
No 5 Flying Training School (Cadre) Shotwick

No 7 Group (HQ - Andover)

Unit Location
School of Photography (a) South Farnborough
Experimental Section (RAE) South Farnborough
No 4 Squadron, 'A' Flight South Farnborough
No 1 Flying Training School Netheravon
School of Army Co-operation Old Sarum
Central Flying School Upavon
Air Pilotage School (Cadre) Andover
Electrical and Wireless School
  1. Detachment
Flower Down
  1. Worthy Down
School of Balloon Training Rollestone Camp
Care & Maintenance Party Blandford, Dorset

(a) Directly under the Air Ministry for technical administration.

Source - April 1921 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19

                                                                        [Top of Page]