Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Coastal Area - May 1920

Directly Administered by Area HQ

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Inspector of Recruiting RAF (a) 4 Henrietta Street, London WC2 Wg Cdr R G Blomfield DSO
Details Pay Section (a) 30 Belgrave Square, London SW1 Fg Off J Freeman-Fowler
RAF Repatriation Records (a) 115 St George's Square, London SW1  
Air Ministry, MT Section (b) War Office Garage, Ebury Bridge Road, London Flt Lt L F P Bawn
RAF Airship Base Howden A/Cdre Edward M Maitland CMG, DSO, AFC
  1. Airship Training School
  2. Airship Experimental Station
  3. Hydrogen Plant
  4. Wireless Station
  5. Meteorological Station
  6. Sub-unit
  7. Airship Construction Station
  1. Howden
  2. Pulham
  3. Howden
  4. Howden
  5. Howden
  6. Barlow, Selby
  7. Barrow-in-Furness
Airship Construction Station Bedford  
Rigid Trial Staff Bedford  
Air Ministry Wireless Section (a) Room 834, Air Ministry, Kingsway, WC2 Fg Off A E Pitcher
Meteorological Station Anglesey  
Meteorological Station Barrow  
Meteorological Station Bedford  
Wireless Station East Fortune  
Wireless Station Pulham  
Wireless Station Grain  
Meteorological Station Grain  
Marine and Armament Experimental Establishment Isle of Grain Wg Cdr Henry R Busteed OBE, AFC; later A/Cdre
  1. Detachment
  1. Kirtling Street, Battersea SW8
Seaplane Station Killingholme  
Delivery Station (Storage) Killingholme  
No 230 Sqn Felixstowe Wg Cdr C E Risk
Meteorological Station Felixstowe  
Wireless Station Felixstowe  

No 10 Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Meteorological Station Calshot  
Wireless Station Calshot  
School of Naval Co-operation and Aerial Navigation Calshot Wg Cdr Edmund D M Robertson DFC; later A/Cdre
  1. Detachment
  1. Lee-on-Solent
No 210 Sqn Gosport Sqn Ldr J A G DeCourcy
No 238 Sqn (Cadre) Cattewater Sqn Ldr G F Breese
Wireless Station Cattewater  
Wireless Station Portland  


No 29 (Fleet) Group

Unit Location Officer Commanding
Coastal Area Aircraft Depot Donibristle Wg Cdr Richard C M Pink CBE; later A/Cdre
Wireless Station Donibristle  
RAF Base Leuchars Leuchars Wg Cdr Robert P Ross DSO, AFC; later A/Cdre
  1. No 203 Sqn
  2. No 205 Sqn
  1. Forming - Leuchars
  2. Forming - Leuchars
RAF Practice Base Houton Bay  
Wireless Station Houton Bay  
RAF Practice Base Smoogroo  
Wireless Station Carnoustie, Dundee  
Aircraft in Fighting Ships Senior officer on staff of Commander-in-Chief, Atlantic and Home Fleets, borne in HMS Queen Elizabeth Sqn Ldr Richard E C Pierse DSO, AFC; later ACM
Aircraft Carriers    
  1. HMS Argus
  2. HMS Furious
  1. Wg Cdr Charles E H Rathborne DSO; later A/Cdre

(a) Directly under The Air Ministry for technical administration.

(b) Directly under The Air Ministry except for purposes of pay, rations and clothing

Source - May 1920 Air Force List

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

[Top of Page]