Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

RAF Non-Commissioned Ranks

Ground Trades (All Trades) 1918 - 1950, Non Technical Trades 1950 - present and Aircrew up to 1946

NCO ranks were adapted mainly from those used by the RFC.  After WW2 new NCO ranks were introduced to differentiate between Technical and Non-Technical trades and between ground trades and NCO aircrew.  Until 1950 all ground tradesmen wore the same rank badges, however in that year a separate rank structure was introduced for Technical tradesmen.

Apprentice/Boy Entrant Apprentice badge  
Leading Aircraftman/woman Leading Aircraftman/woman

Introduced in 1918 as a trade classification.  It became a part of the RAF disciplinary rank structure on 1 January 1951.

Senior Aircraftman/woman Senior Aircraftman/woman Introduced on 1 January 1951 as an intermediate rank between LAC and Corporal.
Corporal Corporal Introduced in 1918 as the lowest NCO rank for all trades.
Sergeant Sergeant Introduced in 1918 for all trades.
Flight Sergeant Flight Sergeant 1918 - 1952

Flight Sergeant  1952 - present

Introduced in 1918 for all trades.

Queen's Crown replaced the Kings Crown in 1952.

Warrant Officer 2nd Class Warrnat Officer 2nd Class Introduced in 1918 for all trades.  Discontinued in 1939.

Warrant Officer 1st Class /Warrant Officer

Warrant Officer 1st Class 1918 - 1939, Warrant Officer 1939 - present Introduced in 1918 as the senior Non-Commissioned rank.  Became the only Warrant rank in 1939.

This page was last updated on 26/05/17 using FrontPage 2003 

[Top of Page]

Back to Ranks and Insignia Menu  Ranks and Insignia Menu                                                Technician Ranks Forward to Technician ranks