Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Named Groups and Other Formations with Group status

Experimental Group

Formed 16 Aug 1918 to control RAF experimental establishments. Disbanded 1 Jan 1919.

xx Aug 1918 ?


Firth of Forth Group

Formed 1 Nov 1918 to control RAF bases at Turnhouse, Rosyth and Donibristle. Disbanded xx xxx xxxx.

xx Nov 1918 ?


Technical Group

Formed Nov 1918 to control 2, 7, 8 & 10 AAPs. Disbanded xx xxx xxxx.

xx Nov 1918 ?


Air Defence Group

Formed 18 Jul 1927 by renaming HQ Special Reserve and AAF. Renamed No 1 Air Defence Group, 25 Aug 1927.

1 Dec 1925         A/Cdre J G Hearson

9 Aug 1927         A/Cdre E L Gerrard


Armament Group

Formed 1 Feb 1934. Transferred to Training Command 1 May 1936. Renamed No 25 Group, 1 Dec 1937

1 Feb 1934         A/Cdre L A Pattinson

18 Feb 1937        A/Cdre A G R Garrod


AOC Training Units

Post established xx xxx 1977? in RAF Support Command, to take over the duties previously carried out by the AOCs of numbered Groups within  Training Command.  Transferred to HQ Personnel and Training Command, 1 Apr 1994.  Post became AOC Training Group at the same time.  It has been included here because the post  replaced that of Group commander and was itself replaced by a unit of Group status.

  2 May 1977                AVM P E Bairsto

10 Nov 1979                AVM J Rogers

 4 Jul 1981                    AVM F D G Clark

29 Jan 1983                  AVM M K Adams

 7 Jan 1984                   AVM R I Stuart-Paul

11 Nov 1985                AVM J D Spottiswood

 3 Mar 1989                 AVM M J Pilkington

30 Jul 1992                  AVM C C C Coville


Training  Group (Defence Agency)

Training Group Defence Agency badgeFormed 1 Apr 1994 within the newly formed Personnel and Training Command. Title changed to Chief Executive, Training Group Defence Agency and AOC, Training Group; xx xxx 1996/7 .  It was disbanded by being renamed No 22 (Training) Group on 30 Oct 2006.


1 Apr 1994                AVM C C C Coville

xx xxx 1994               A/Cdre A A Nicholson (Acting)

 8 Jan 1997                AVM A J Stables

17 Nov 1999             AVM I S Corbitt

 4 Apr 2002:              AVM G A Miller

 4 Jan 2005                AVM J M M Ponsonby

This page was last updated on 09/06/17 using FrontPage 2003© 

© Crown Copyright is reproduced with the permission of the Controller of Her Majesty’s Stationery Office

[Top of Page]

Back to Main Group Index Main Group Index