Air of Authority - A History of RAF Organisation

Home Page

Main Menu

Quick Menu

Members' Area

What New?

About this site


Help Needed?



Sign Guest Book

View Guest Book

Link to Amazon

Online Store

Contact Me

Air Ministry - January 1945

HQ - Kingsway, London WC2

Units administered directly by the Air Ministry

Embarkation Units

Operational control and personnel matters relating to officers manning the Embarkation Units was vested in the Director of Movements at the Air Ministry but the parent stations were responsible for pay, accounting and administration of airmen.

Unit Location/Address Parent Unit
No 12 Aberdeen Dyce
No 4 Avonmouth Filton
No 29 Ayr Ayr
No 16 Barrow-in-Furness No 10 AGS, Walney Island
No 5 Barry No 7 MT Company
No 11 Belfast Belfast
No 71 Cardiff No 7 MT Company
No 32 Douglas Jurby
No 8 Glasgow Self-accounting
No 21 Hull Sutton-on-Hull
No 9 Leith HQ, No 17 Group, Edinburgh
No 10 Lerwick Sumburgh
No 3 Liverpool Self-accounting
No 35 Lochboisdale Lochboisdale
No 1 London No 1 Balloon Centre, Kidbrooke
No 95 Newhaven RAF Brighton
No 6 Newport No 7 MT Company
No 37 Oban Oban
No 30 Port Ellen Port Ellen
No 17 Preston HQ, No 9 Group
No 2 Southampton Self-accounting
No 36 Stornoway Stornoway
No 14 Stranraer Castle Kennedy
No 22 Stromness Skeabrae
No 7 Swansea No 7 MT Company
No 27 Thurso Castletown
No 31 Tiree Tiree
No 28 Workington Silloth

Source - SD161 (52nd Edition) - January 1945

County names used are those in use at the time

This page was last updated on 08/07/19 using FrontPage 2003

                                                                        [Top of Page]                                               Insert the URL of the next page here